Friendship

Friendship

Here we are, walking again yesterday in Jackson Park, another beautiful walk. I have picked the photo that Michelle took (rather than the one I took as it is a better photo – sorry Michelle!) but this image, together with Andrea dropping in tonight, has made me realise how lucky we have been to find such good friends so quickly here. Andrea set up the famous Friday nighters that Simon so enjoys going to and he has found some friends to “hang with” there, I doubt they have the same conversations that we mums have but I don’t think that makes their friendship any less valid. I think we parents have made friends so quickly because we all understand each other well, with our Arrowsmith students and their different, and yet similar, issues. Equally the students “get” each other as well.
Friends, old and new, a true blessing, are so important. As the writer Jon Katz says
“I think if I’ve learned anything about friendship, it’s to hang in, stay connected, fight for them, and let them fight for you. Don’t walk away, don’t be distracted, don’t be too busy or tired, don’t take them for granted. Friends are part of the glue that holds life and faith together. Powerful stuff.”
ps Did anyone notice the Christmas addition to the blog? And please “like” the blog if you like it! It makes us feel good!

6 thoughts on “Friendship

  1. Have to say I thought the Christmas addition was either (1) my eyes going wonky or (2) my computer about to crack up. Glad to know it’s only snow!!!

  2. On friendship – I read this out at my dear friend Meryl’s memorial service. “Great friends are hard to find, difficult to leave and impossible to forget”

We'd love to hear from you - send us a comment!

