Confounding weather!

Confounding weather!

As in most places, the weather is a constant source of consternation and conversation! It is so much warmer now, a balmy zero or even higher, and yet it is treacherous to walk outside! The rain has washed away all the snow and all that is left is the sheet ice underneath. With the freezing and thawing each night even the crunchy snow, which provided a refuge from the ice, is now icy! Thank goodness for my Switch Sticks hiking pole which makes me feel safer and which actually makes me safer! And Simon too as he sets off early each morning to Arrowsmith.
Armed with my hiking pole, and I must admit somewhat apprehensive, we brave (foolish?) Mums set off again this morning for our Parents walking group walk! Along the Rotary trail towards the Lift Lock, it was sometimes more like skating than walking but we managed a good long walk and as the ice thawed, we walked more than we skated! If Leah hadn’t been our trusty leader, Lynette and I would definitely headed to Sam’s Café for our usual after walk treat before our walk!
After a really tasty lunch at the Food Forest to celebrate Leah’s birthday, with much laughter and many stories, I set off back to Arrowsmith to pick up Simon to make our way to the chiropractor – he needs stretching every now and again after all that sitting at a desk all day! The Rotary trail paths I had felt confident to walk along in the morning were now sheet ice – my hiking pole kept me going! At one point a kind lady took my arm and guided me across the path! Next time I am going to take the bus until this ice is gone or until it snows again.

4 thoughts on “Confounding weather!

  1. Cant believe you didnt say… See red below….

    On 15/01/2014 02:10, “fionaandsimonincanada” wrote:

    > fionaandsimon37 posted: ” As in most places, the weather is a constant source > of consternation and conversation! It is so much warmer now, a balmy zero or > even higher, and yet it is treacherous to walk outside! The rain has washed > away all the snow and all that is left is the sh” >

We'd love to hear from you - send us a comment!

