Stuck inside!

Stuck inside!

This photo was taken yesterday – I needed to remind myself that the weather can be glorious as today each time I looked out of the window the sky was grey and thick snow was falling not downwards but being blown horizontally along the road! Needless to say I didn’t venture outside and besides I was busy, researching for articles about various health issues. To give myself a break and stretch my legs from time to time I cleaned the bathroom, I vacuumed, I did the little washing up we made after breakfast, after lunch and then I read an article about procrastinating! To be fair to myself, I did actually read and write a couple of articles and have all the information I need for another one or two so my day was not entirely unproductive. I am glad, however, that most days I don’t spend all my days sitting at a desk on the computer, particularly given these chilling facts I learnt today – people who watch more than 4 hours a day of tv are almost twice as likely (46%) to die from any cause than people who watched less than 2 hours/day. Each hour you watch increases your overall risk of dying by 11% and dying from heart disease by 18%. I am sitting here wondering if the situation is similar for being in front of a computer screen for hours on end – too scary to contemplate! For each disease or condition that I have read about I end up convinced I have all the pertinent symptoms – a little like the character in “Three Men in a Boat” who reads a medical dictionary and convinces himself he has each and every disease or affliction other than housemaid’s knee! After today I think I could suffer from housemaid’s knee as well as everything else!
This afternoon Simon came back from Arrowsmith with that special coy grin of his! I thought he must have mastered tracing, he hadn’t but he had finished the training for the next level of clocks today, taking only two days to complete what usually takes two weeks so he was, justifiably, feeling very pleased with himself! Go Simon!

2 thoughts on “Stuck inside!

    • It makes sense that it would be given the facts! There is a great animation by Dr Mike Evans called “23.5 hours” and a later one called “Can we makes our lives harder?” , both of which clearly explain the health risks of a sedentary lifestyle – well worth watching. The other bad word I think is sugar, as in all the sugar in processed foods which most people are not even aware that they are eating. F x

We'd love to hear from you - send us a comment!

